Opening times

Contact the Box Office on

+44 (0) 20 7534 1744

Join our mailing list for show and
exhibition updates and offers!

Newsletter Signup

Old Comedian of the Year

Old comedian Logo 2018 smaller.jpgThe Old Ones Are The Best!

Old Comedian of the Year is based at The Museum of Comedy in Bloomsbury. The final will be held at Leicester Square Theatre, in the heart of London's West End.

Forget cheery optimism and skinny jeans. At last, a competition for comics who've been around long enough to know better. Expect a high standard and a hint of world weary cynicism as 100 not so new acts compete for the title of Old Comedian of the Year.

The competition is open to anyone over 35 who has been performing for 5 years or more, and not making a living from comedy. Entries from character acts, musical acts and sketch groups are welcome. The only restriction is that all contestants must stick to 5 minutes of original material or risk disqualification.

From the people who brought you New Comedian of the Year, but slightly more jaded…

Old Comedian Of The Year will be back in 2019. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for information...



1st place - Naomi Paxton  as Ade Campe
2nd place - Colin Chadwick
3rd place - Jules Oliver


1st place - Nick Elleray
2nd place - Rob Thomas
3rd place - Chris McGlade


1st place - Joe Bor as Jasper Cromwell Jones
2nd place - Magnus Turner MP
3rd place - Kelly Kingham


1st Place - Tim Shishodia
2nd Place - Toby Williams as Dr George Ryegold
3rd Place - Sam Savage as Linda Larkin

You may also be interested in...

Museum of Comedy in the Press

"If you have the slightest interest in comedy I urge you to get down there" - Bruce Dessau, Beyond The Joke.

Read more

Loans, Donations and Bequests

Donations gratefully considered if you have an object of historical interest, which relates to the history of comedy or to collections already held at the Museum.

Read more